Excel Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Excel Question

I've been using Excel for a long time, on and off, so I'm no master. I'm doing a specific spreadsheet of data on universal healthcare and I'm looking for a way to present multiple sets of data with multiple data ranges together side by side for comparative purposes. I can't for the life of me figure out of a way to make Excel consider multiple data ranges.

Is it possible, or am I screwed?

Re: Excel Question

Nah, I think it's possible, but it might be tricky. I wouldn't know how exactly though since I'm no expert, but I think it's possible. Good luck.

Comment

I'm a bit braindead right now, so reading through that was like trying to read a bowl of alphabet soup. Can you explain in a little more detail?

Comment

Wouldn't more detail make it worse if you're braindead? lol

He basically wants a lot of data side by side for comparison reasons.

Comment

I gathered that much Eo. The question is...why not just type it in side by side?

The multiple data ranges is what's throwing me. I'm not sure if he's trying to do different data ranges in the same comparison, or like...all of one row would be one range, with the next row being different...

/confused

Comment

you can use cell references to mirror data from two sheets (even formulas):

Click on the cell you want the data in and type "="

Select the sheet which contains the data you want to display and then click on the appropriate cell.

Press "Enter" to save the formula you have made.

If you use the "drag box" (a little black box in the lower right-hand corner of the cell you just made, it will populate data from adjacent cells.

You can edit the cell reference (for instance E11) by including "$" in the reference to restrict the column and/or row. Examples: