Skillchains?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Skillchains?

Sorry if this is the wrong forum, but I'm curious about skillchains and their releveancy to the game.

I've been playing for almost 2 months and in my entire time I've only seen one skillchain, and I often hear posts saying things like "I haven't seen a skillchain in months."

I'm curious why?It seems like it'd be a fun and tactical part of battle, but I don't see them used, are they only used at higher levels, or is there a reason why people aren't doing them? Maybe it's because I usualy play backline jobs?
    BRD 75 WHM 44 RDM 20 NIN 23 WAR 20 THF 16

Score: Maat 3 Prons 1
    Bard Maat Masher: Shiva Record Holder, 4 minutes, 47 seconds.

Re: Skillchains?

The main problem regarding this is Treasures of Aht Urghan.

Y'see, before that expansion was released, Skillchain/Magic Burst parties were common at all levels of play, while the "TP Burn" play style and mentality were limited to King Ranperre's Tomb, behind the Moongates in Ro'Maeve, or in the deepest reaches of Tu'Lia. Everyone built parties around finding the proper jobs that wielded the correct weapons that made the right Skillchains that the Black Mages in the parties (yes, BLMs got parties back then) could properly Magic Burst off of, for maximum damage on pre-determined camps.

Then ToAU came along, and more specifically, Colibri and Imps.

Now, you only see Skillchains either by A] a Samurai self chains, B] a Blue Mage does the dame, or C] Random. The "TP Burn" style has reached almost every level of play, and as a consequence, player skill in a Skillchain/MB setup is all but lost.

If you want to see a Skillchain in action, I'd suggest making your own parties with the express purpose of doing so, going after mobs that aren't so squishy, but I'd be remiss if I didn't tell you "Good Luck" when trying that.

Last edited by LilithAngel; 01-29-2008, 10:57 PM. Reason: Yes, sometimes Story Time doesn't have a happy ending...