The old Router problem. Please Help me

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The old Router problem. Please Help me

Well I started playing again after having previously had router issues that forced me to quit. I figured signal strength was the problem, and I got a linksys-G router that is replacong my old B. It worked for a couple days, but now I'm getting the exact same disconnect errors (the 4001, 4002, whatever...).

Knowing that signal strength is not the issue, I think I've figured out what is. Though my signals very strong, the signal speed tends to fluctuate (jumping randomly to 54, 48, 36, and even 24 Mbps). This was never a problem with any other MMORPG's, but this games server code seems to suck horribly.

I'll save us some time here by telling you I've got the latest firmware, all my firewalls are down, and I've opened all the correct ports. I've also confirmed that the routers the issue several times by connecting directly to the cable line. Also, going without the router and using the line is not an option.

Should I just give up now, or do any of you have any idea's or solutions that could help? Anything would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
    Last edited by Dreakon; 10-17-2006, 10:47 AM.

Re: The old Router problem. Please Help me

Though my signals very strong, the signal speed tends to fluctuate (jumping randomly to 54, 48, 36, and even 24 Mbps).
    Sounds like you've got a neighbor operating at same frequency. Have you tried changing the channel your router uses?

signature by fallenintoshadows

Comment

instead of playing wireless, have you tried just going the old-fashioned plugged-in way? might save you some headache (btw, I never game over wireless even though I have it)

Thanks Yyg!

Comment

Are you plugged in directly into the router or are you using a wireless card and wireless portion of the router?
        Hacked on 9/9/09
        FFXIAH - Omniblast

Comment

Originally posted by Gentoo View Post